Leading with my heart…BRING IT

June 23rd – August 21st

Hello hello to all of my beautiful family and friends. Welcome back to my blog! I apologize that I haven’t posted in so long, but in my defense I’ve been very busy! This semester has holistically been the best of my time here in Korea. Work has been challenging in good ways, my health (both physical and mental) has been a priority, and my friendships have grown even stronger. I am soon going to be faced with change that is hard to accept- my Canadian s(e)oul sister Sabrina is leaving for her next incredible adventure!

Soon my life here is going to be completely different. Who will I fight the people of Seoul with cycling to work? Who will share my dream voodoo that floats one floor above to her apartment? Who will stroll  with me to the market every Sunday? Most importantly, who will keep me grounded and remind me to be grateful for the beauty that dances all around me?

Moving into my last three months is going to be like starting all over without my sister by my side, but I know that I need to move forward with my heart open. There are 106 more adventure-filled days to be lived, 2,544 more inspiring hours to be savoured, and an infinite amount of thank yous to be breathed into the universe.

Here are all of the extraordinary moments I have experienced in the past 2 months (excluding Jeju Island- that post is still to come).

Adventures with Marianne and Mario: Sab and I enjoyed two adventures with this rambunctious couple. We popped bottles and devoured an apparently healthy meal as we “burned Friday”. This is a phrase Marianne says means we drink away Friday to relieve the stress of the workweek. A month later we traveled to an idyllic park to experience the lotus flowers. Every moment during this meetup was bitter-sweet as it was probably the last for us 3-amigos (plus Mario).

Canada Day and my Amazing Students: Canada Day was so very special. I was actually one of a few teachers who were chosen to be filmed by headquarters for promotional material and instruction for other teachers. Needless to say, I was a bit stressed but that all went away when I threw a Canada shirt over my dress and stuck flags in my hair. I was AMPED UP and the kids loved it. This was the day that my Ocean class won over my heart forever. These kids are so adorable and bright. They made up a Canada song and Dana even made me a Canadian flag the next day. Heart=melted.

Mural Village and Bukcheon Hanok Village: Seoul is filled with cultural and traditional experiences if you know where to look. I first visited Ihwa Mural Village with Sab, Rose and Rielan. I love graffiti and street art so this was a dream for me! Sadly, two of the major pieces were vandalized and painted over recently in response to high tourist traffic. This had us a little miffed but we brushed off our disappointment and made the most of wandering through the quaint streets… quietly. On a separate weekend I joined my co-workers for another weekend get-together. We took a free-walking tour of the Bukchon Hanok Village. Hanok are traditional houses which have long gone by the wayside in nowadays bustling and bursting Seoul.  The tour guide was really sweet and it was cool to learn a bit of history as we meandered around the neighbourhood.

Random Wanderings: This section includes our adventure to Eurwangni Beach near Incheon, to a raccoon cafe, and to see the sleeping Buddha.

Straight  up random…

I had so much fun writing this and I hope you’ve enjoyed some of the best days here in Korea! Last semester- BRING IT!

Annyeong! ❤

 

4 comments

  1. Katherine · August 24

    How are Hanok different? They almost look similar to townhouses 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ashley Ann · August 24

      Hanok are special because of the way they were positioned according to weather, etc. They didn’t have AC and their heating was special (ondol) so I guess they made them with the seasons in mind. Something like that 😛

      Like

  2. mamma jamma · August 25

    So many ups and downs. Always a new adventure around the corner waiting for you.

    miss you lots! Counting the days till Katherine and I come.

    mamma jamma

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ashley Ann · August 25

      There are many ups and downs, but that’s what makes us stronger, right mama? Love you and I cannot wait until you and Katherine are here! I think about it everyday! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

